Tags

, , , , , , ,

What a strange year we are having.  Yesterday it was in the 80’s here in the Berkshires, and this morning my unheated house is 70 degrees.  We haven’t had good rain in a while, so we’ve been in and out of red flag warnings (risk of fire) for weeks.  After last year’s constant deluges of rain and snow I couldn’t have believed that water would be an issue here.

CoyoteCrow Farm continues to roll along.  I always take on more than I should, but that’s the way of it, I suppose.  I’m almost done reading Greenhorns: 50 Dispatches from the New Farmers’ Movement, and it seems to be a common trait of those of us drawn to agricultural enterprises.  Of course, I’m on a micro-homestead scale, not creating a business venture, but there is an underlying kinship.

My current list of too many projects: new chickens (yay!); a small army of seedlings (need to plant a bunch more, maybe move some outside to the little plastic-covered greenhouse); some spelt berries washed and drying, waiting to be ground into grain; some wheat berries set to sprout, then dehydrate, then grind into grain (makes the wheat more digestible for my system); a long list of herbals I’m behind on making, as well as homemade toothpaste (yes, really!).  Oh, and building the chicken coop.  Throw in a full-time job, two dogs and two cats, and the rest of the household, and it’s no wonder I feel quite busy.

I have the best friends in the world, I have to say.  Both near and far.  The love and support that surround me are tangible, and I am so very grateful to all of you.  My very best friend of all is my wife, of course, but you all know how I feel about her.  🙂

May you all be similarly happy on this beautiful day.  Blessed be.

